بناء مستقبل في إزمير: رائد أعمال سوري يتخطى العقبات ويحقق النجاح - Building Markets

بناء مستقبل في إزمير: رائد أعمال سوري يتخطى العقبات ويحقق النجاح

by Jackie Michaels
يناير 19th, 2023

بدأت رحلة علاء جيك من مسقط رأسه في مدينة اللاذقية الساحلية ، سوريا. بعد سنوات عديدة من نجاحه في إدارة متجر مع عائلته ، دفعته ظروف الحرب المتصاعدة في سوريا إلى التفكير ببداية جديدة في الخارج. وقع اختياره على مدينة إزمير ، تركيا ، وهي مدينة ذات مناخ وموقع ساحلي مشابه لمدينة اللاذقية المحبوبة

كافحت عائلة علاء من أجل الحفاظ على متجرهم لبيع ملابس الأطفال في اللاذقية مفتوحاً ، ولكن مع تفاقم الوضع في سوريا ، كان علاء مصممًا على بناء  حياة جديدة مع عائلته حيث زار إزمير مرات متعددة ، وبعد الكثير من العمل الجاد والتحضير ، انتقلت العائلة بشكل دائم إلى إزمير في عام 2016. على الرغم من صعوبة البدايات الجديدة إلا أنه كان مفعماً بالعزيمة والإصرار لتحقيق النجاح 

استخدم علاء مدخراته لفتح متجر جديد في إزمير ، الاتحاد للتجارة الخارجية ، وبدأ في استيراد البضائع ، لكن علاء واجه صعوبات في الاستيراد وتعرض لخسائر مالية  لكن بدلاً من الاستسلام ، تحول علاء من الاستيراد إلى تصدير الأثاث

لم يكن لدي سوى 20 ليرة تركية (أقل من 2 دولار أمريكي) عندما استقبلت عميلي الأول في المكتب. أنفقتها على شراء الضيافة له و بعد  اقتناعه بامكانياتي ، كانت الدفعة المقدمة التي حصلت عليها منه بمثابة الانطلاقة الفعلية التي مكنتني من البدء في شراء المواد

 

ساعدت الأرباح التي جناها علاء من هذه الصفقة على تنمية أعماله ، واليوم يقوم علاء بالتصدير إلى مجموعة متنوعة من العملاء في 14 دولة بما في ذلك دبي وعمان وفلسطين وكينيا والمملكة العربية السعودية. تقوم شركة الاتحاد للتجارة الخارجية الآن بتصدير الأثاث والسيراميك والرخام ولديها خطط طموحة للمستقبل

تتمثل إحدى التحديات التي يواجهها علاء في إزمير في الافتقار إلى شبكة محلية من رجال الأعمال السوريين ، ولكن من خلال بلدينغ ماركتس ، تمكن من بناء علاقات جديدة وتعلم كيفية جذب الجمهور المناسب من خلال التدريب على التسويق

يوضح علاء أيضًا كيف أن الشراكات بين الثقافات ، على الصعيد المهني والشخصي ، لها تأثير كبير على النجاح ، وينصح الآخرين بالبقاء إيجابيين وعدم تصديق الفكرة الخاطئة بأن السوريين غير مرحب بهم في المجتمع التركي. فقد احتضنته أسرة زوجته التركية بكل إخلاص. من الناحية المهنية ، استفاد من الإرشاد والعلاقات الجديدة مع رواد الأعمال الأتراك والسوريين ذوي الرؤية المشتركة. كما يطمح علاء لتحقيق هدفه بأن يكون من أكبر المصدرين في المنطقة

More from this author -

Latest News -

Don't miss out on the latest from Building Markets!

We update our community with stories, research, impact metrics, news and special events.

Building a Future in Izmir: Syrian Entrepreneur Overcomes Obstacles and Achieves Success - Building Markets

Building a Future in Izmir: Syrian Entrepreneur Overcomes Obstacles and Achieves Success

by Jackie Michaels
January 19th, 2023

Alaa Cık’s journey began in the coastal city of Latakia, Syria, his hometown. He had many happy years running a chain of children’s shops with his family, but the escalating war spurred thoughts of a new beginning abroad. He found himself drawn to Izmir, Türkiye, a city with a similar climate and coastal location to his beloved Latakia. He made the decision to permanently relocate to Izmir alone in 2016 and open his company Ittihad Foreign Trade LTD, while his family kept business operations running in Latakia.

Alaa used his savings to begin importing goods from China and Korea. He confronted difficulties in running a business in Türkiye, however. The customs rules were challenging to navigate and he was hit with financial losses. Instead of giving up though, he made a strategic pivot from importing to exporting furniture, which ultimately led to the success of his business. He was able to adapt and find new opportunities.

Alaa’s entrepreneurial spirit and resourcefulness were on full display when he welcomed his first customer at his new store in Izmir. Despite having limited resources, he used his creativity and communication skills to make a lasting impression and secure an advance payment that helped him start collecting products from the market and grow his business. 

“I only had 20 Turkish liras (<$2 USD) left in my wallet when I welcomed my customer at the office. I bought biscuits and tea for him that day. I was so scared because I didn’t have any money to pay my rent or for essentials.” 

 

Alaa explained what he could do for this customer and he was convinced. Today, Alaa is proud to serve a diverse range of clients in 14 countries. Ittihad Foreign Trade, has grown to export furniture, ceramics and marble, and has ambitious plans for the future.

One of the challenges Alaa faces in Izmir is the lack of a local network of Syrian business people, but through Building Markets he has made new connections at networking events and learned how to attract the right audience with marketing training and mentorship.

“That’s why I got in contact with Building Markets. With their guidance, we can come together and achieve greater success.”

 

Alaa also exemplifies how cross-cultural partnerships, both professional and personal, have a big impact on success. Alaa’s in-laws, who are Turkish, have embraced him wholeheartedly and Alaa advises others to stay positive and not to believe the false notion that Syrians are not welcome in Turkish society. With support from both cultures, he hopes to be one of top exporter and construction suppliers in the region.

 

More from this author -

Latest News -

Don't miss out on the latest from Building Markets!

We update our community with stories, research, impact metrics, news and special events.